Mike Holober & Balancing Act

“Don’t Let Go” is a Chamber Music America New Jazz Works commission for Mike Holober & Balancing Act.  This CD-length project is structured as a song-cycle in the tradition of Robert Schumann, Samuel Barber, and Ralph Vaughn-Williams. “Don’t Let Go”explores the nuances and complexities of the concept of “hope” in the context of current social, political, and environmental realities. 


Click here for more information.

an emotionally persuasive album of six originals and two pop covers”

DownBeat Magazine

Balancing Act speaks to Holober’s creative examination of contrasting elements and ideas. The recording features a newly assembled stellar octet, comprised of vocalist Kate McGarry, saxophonists Jason Rigby and Dick Oatts, trumpeter Marvin Stamm, trombonist Mark Patterson, bassist John Hébert and drummer Brian Blade—all long-time associates of Holober’s who have assisted him with other projects over the years but never have played together as a unit


Click here for more information.