Acclaimed composer/arranger Mike Holober creates an epic masterwork melding jazz, classical and art song for his Grammy-nominated Gotham Jazz Orchestra

Due out June 14, 2024 via Palmetto Records, "This Rock We're On: Imaginary Letters" draws inspiration from the natural world and the insights of environmental authors, artists, and activists such as Ansel Adams, Rachel Carson, Sigurd Olson, Wendell Berry, Terry Tempest Williams, and Robin Wall Kimmerer

Featuring Holober's GRAMMY-nominated Gotham Jazz Orchestra, soloists include Jason Rigby (tenor saxophone), Ben Kono (alto saxophone), Charles Pillow (alto saxophone), Marvin Stamm (trumpet), Jared Schonig (drums), Nir Felder (guitar), Jody Redhage Ferber (cello) and James Shipp (percussion). The ensemble is joined for the occasion by tenor saxophonist Chris Potter, bassist John Patitucci, and the up-and-coming Brazilian vocalist Jamile Staevie Ayres

“Holober has brought a profound artistic vision to bear on today's jazz scene and confirmed his standing as one of the finest modern composer/arrangers of our time, in the tradition of Gil Evans, Bob Brookmeyer and Jim McNeely.”
Ed EnrightDownBeat

Mike Holober's writing is in the expansive and ambitious lineage of Gil Evans, Bob Brookmeyer and Maria Schneider: music of varying moods that merges the thrust of jazz with atmospheric colors closer to the classical world. It can teem with energy or settle into a state of quiet, contemplative beauty.” - Jerome Wilson All About Jazz

This Rock We’re On: Imaginary Letters feels like vespers sung for the Anthropocene before night falls.”

— Terry Tempest Williams, environmental author and activist

Three Words for Snow - imaginary letter from Sigurd Olson (excerpt)

Mike Holober & The Gotham Jazz Orchestra

Words and music by Mike Holober Jamile Staevie Ayres, voice; Jody Redhage Ferber, cello; Ben Kono, flute; Mike Holober, piano; James Shipp, percussion

From "This Rock We're On: Imaginary Letters" (Palmetto, June 14, 2024)

Read more…
  1. 1

Greetings from Cologne!  I’m here to conduct the wonderful WDR Big Band in a project called “The Flight,” featuring Joe Lovano and Dave Douglas, with arrangements by Mike Abene.  Details below (note, the September 16 concert will be livestreamed) 

The Flight – The Music of Joe Lovano and Dave Douglas 
Friday September 15 l 20.00 Uhr l  Eupen, Alter Schlachtof 
Saturday September 16 l 20 Uhr l Hochschule für Musik und Tanz, Köln 


New Release

Artist Residency

Join our mailing list for the latest news